Sunshine Award: The Sun is Shining

There is not a single days that goes by without me discovering a new fantastic blog and a large number of truly committed bloggers.  So I was sincerely – but pleasantly – surprised recently when binNotes nominated me for the Sunshine Award.

It has been quite busy recently and I didn’t spend much time on the net. And when I had a little bit of time for myself last weekend, I decided to go back to places I love instead of looking for a new café: I went to Kura, Drop Coffee and Amsterdam.

I’ve been spending a bit more time recently communicating with someone I should have known better many years ago. I guess it is better late than never. We have many things in common, including the love of music.  She recently reminded me of Bob Marley’s The Sun is Shining. In turn, that reminded me that I was still owing thanks to binNotes.

In her own words, binNotes “chronicles one writer’s unabashed appreciation for the art of wine, with occasional forays into food and travel”.  A visit to binNotes’ blog is always a pleasure! Thank you binNotes, both for the nomination and for sharing your passion with us.

As part of the rules for this award, I am to answer the following 10 questions and nominate 10 bloggers who inspire me.  Here it goes:

The Ten Questions:

  1. Favorite Color – green
  2. Favorite Animal – cats
  3. Favorite Number – 3
  4. Favorite Non-Alcoholic Drink – Lingonberry juice
  5. Prefer Facebook or Twitter – Facebook
  6. My Passion – Music (with cafés a close 2nd)
  7. Prefer Getting or Giving Presents – Giving
  8. Favorite Pattern – None
  9. Favorite Day of the Week – Saturday
  10. Favorite Flower – Daisy

Ten bloggers I’d like to nominate (in no particular order):

1- Sparrow on the Tree Top

This blog is written by a friend that I am slowly getting to know better through her posts. If you like travels, nice photos, beautiful recipes and the occasional life advice, this blog is for you. I really enjoyed working with Emily in a previous life and her “joie de vivre” is very present throughout her blog.

2- Curious Cat on the Run

There are many travel blogs out there but Cat’s blog caught my attention for at least two reasons: 1) she is doing what I wish I had done when I was 25; and 2) she is traveling to places I have been or I really want to go.

3-Marina Chetner: Be Inspired Through Travel

Just like Curious Cat on the Run, Marina is from Australia. She now lives in Brooklyn and  I never stop being amazed by her beautiful photos of New York. I also learn so much from Marina’s blog. Every post is well-researched. And Marina is a very talented writer.

4- Violets and Cardamom

Everything that makes life better seems to have a place on this blog, including food, music and travel. And the blogger has a real talent to communicate her passions.

5- Montreal in Pictures

I love seeing photos from my home towns through the lenses of foreigners or expats. In this case a guy who moved there from the UK in 1999. As much as I enjoy life in Europe, sometimes I wish I’d wake up in Montreal. And when this is not possible I visit “Montreal in Pictures”.

6- 6 Months to Live: The Experiment Continues

Don’t get fooled by the title. This blog is full of life! Jacqueline is perfectly healthy, and she started her experiment–choosing life for life’s sake. Instead of doing “all the things she always wanted to do in an escalating crescendo previewing an ultimate finale”, she is taking 6 months at a time and goes for it. Inspiring!

7– Ms Eleva Levon Traveling

There are many things in Elena’s blog that make me coming back on a regular basis, but the one that I appreciate the most is freedom. If I ever publish a dictionary, I will put Elena’s photo next to “freedom”.

8- Me & Beirut

The woman behind this blog says: “I looove fashion, magazines, newspapers, CAFÉS, museums, biscuits and travelling!”… well, that is quite a bit to keep me interested. And of course, she lives in Beirut, a place where I’d love to go back!

9- Bringing you Beirut

I never get tired of good blogs from Beirut. For me, it all started with her post on Beiteddine. So you can expect to get more than Beirut. From Baalbeck to Tyre, this is a nice virtual trip to Lebanon.

10- Belgrade Streets

It is always nice to meet another expat who fell in love with the White City. Here you can see some of the best photos of Beograd. I spend a lot of time on this blog when I feel “homesick”!

For more great blogs, please go here: Liebster Blog Award: Spreading the Love on Valentine’s Day

Tack så mycket!

About redpantsandamustache

The older I get, the more I drink coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunshine Award: The Sun is Shining

  1. Me & Beirut says:

    Dearest RP&M, thank you SO MUCH for nominating me 🙂 Je suis très flattée because I like your blog a lot! 🙂 I like your answer to point 9.: It’s my favorite too, because of the cafééés bien-sûr!! 🙂

  2. Many thanks for the sunshine nomination. Glad I can help relieve some homesickness for Montreal when needed. Let me know if there is any specific place you’re missing and I’ll try to include in a future post. I’ve never made it to Stockholm, but your blog seriously makes me wish I had…1 day hopefully.

    Thanks again, and if you’re ever back in Montréal let’s grab a coffee.

    Martin

  3. Jacqueline says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination! I’ve never been nominated for the Sunshine Award. I also like the questions and look forward to answering them. I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I really appreciate you reading my blog and the time you look to write such a wonderful description of it. I’m so glad to hear that it inspires! And I loved what you said about EL’s blog. What a beautiful compliment to her and to her freedom!

  4. Oh PS .. I’m also grateful for all the other great blogs you have listed here! Can’t wait to explore!!

  5. Many Mercis!!! I love sunshine and I give you all the credit for the wonderful warm sunshine-y weather we had today… record breaking highs!!
    I’m happy mostly to have found out that you are a cat person (too) if you had said dogs I may have had to “unfriend” 😉
    All the best my friend and thank-you again for the sunshine props!

    • Hey, I will happily take the credit you are giving me 😉
      Looks like it was a perfect day to recover from St. Patrick’s Day in O-town.
      And wow, I had no idea how much was at stake when I answered those questions… 😉

  6. Thank you so much! What kind words. 🙂 I enjoy your blog immensely…I can pretend that I am sitting in a cute coffee-shop in Europe through your words and pictures. And “yay” for Saturdays (totally the best day of the week)!!

  7. Thank you so much for my nomination, and I congratulate you on yours award! You wrote such kind words about me and I appreciate it so much! I love that you read my blog and learn from it. I recognise many of your nominees and look forward to browsing through the others. A wonderful roundup. And thank you for this sunshine! PS I like number 3 too 🙂

Leave a comment