Tellus Bio & Café: Getting ready for Djurdjevdan in Midsommarkransen

Nothing with my friend AP is simple! And that’s ok because she is Serbian (although also a Swedish citizen since a couple of months ago) and all the little complications with her remind me of my time in the Balkans. You think I am too harsh? Well, remember her move? Or when I waited for her at Albert & Jack’s? But you are right, I am not really complaining, especially since this time it involved making plans to celebrate Djurdevdan on 6 May! Djurdjevdan – the feast of St. George – is one of the most important Slava in Serbia, one that happens to be celebrated by AP’s family. And the cool thing with Slava (other than all the eating and drinking) is that it is actually the family celebrating that is hosting. This means that AP has probably been cooking for the last 48 hours. But in order to do so, she needed the appropriate Balkan products. And where does one find the best Balkan products in the Stockholm area? In Skärholmen!

Now, if you look at a map of Stockholm’s subway, you will see that both Skärholmen and Midsommarkransen are on the red line. But if you look carefully, you will see that they are on two different branches of the red line… Anyhow, on our way to Skärholmen, we managed to end up in Midsommarkransen. Which is great because I was quite happy to discover a new area of Stockholm.

I understand that Midsommarkransen is a nice suburb of Stockholm where hipsters from Södermalm go when they have kids and need a larger flat. Midsommarkransen certainly feels much quieter than Söder but I understand why ex hipsters would want to live there. I could feel a very good vibe there, and of course Tellus Bio & Café helps in that regard!

IMG_4255

Tellus is a small neighbourhood movie theatre from the 1920s, which has been run by a nonprofit cultural organization since 1986. Tellus has about 70 volunteers that do everything, from baking cakes to running the projectors for movies. I understand that the café (and the cinéma) can be hired for private functions. And I feel like we walked into a private birthday lunch on Sunday when we entered Tellus! But that did not prevent me from enjoying a nice piece of cake. Carrot cake of course!

IMG_4249

There is nothing fancy at Tellus. No fancy latté or cappuccino. Just simple brewed coffee and tea. Nothing fancy but everything’s good. I had a wonderful raspberry milkshake (in most places they would call it a smoothie but not at Tellus) with my cake.

IMG_4252

I would love to go back to Tellus. It feels like everything there stopped in 1986, when the place became a nonprofit institutions.

IMG_4253

I will certainly go back to Tellus. First, I did not spend enough time in Midsommarkransen as we had to get to Skärholmen. But also because I would love to watch a movie in this old cinema theatre. In fact I just realized that Tellus is presenting The Grand Budapest Hotel later this month. I have already seen it but I’d love to see it again in that setting. And judging by the program which, in addition to movies, includes music and literature, there are plenty of good reasons to go back to Tellus!

Tellus Bio & Café, Vattenledningsvägen 46, 126 33 Midsommarkransen

About redpantsandamustache

A simple guy who doesn't know what he will do when he grows up. P.S. Thanks to Fever Ray, now I think I wanna be a forester!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tellus Bio & Café: Getting ready for Djurdjevdan in Midsommarkransen

  1. Priscilla says:

    Great post! I love reading your Stockholm posts. Do you have an email I can contact you on?

    Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

