Tårtan: doing very well, even without the girl with the piano tattoo

One of the closest cafés to my place is located on Hornsgatan, right on the corner of Maria Trappgränd. I understand there has been a café there for quite some time. I believe it used to be called Café Puck before I moved here. It was then called Franzéns, a place I used to go all the time. Then it changed name again and, for some reasons, I stopped going to that café. Partly because I was too busy exploring new places. But every time I passed by Tårtan in the last few months, I promised myself that I would have coffee there “this week”. Well, it took time but I finally did.

IMG_2530

I felt really lazy this morning and I was almost happy that they were forecasting rain for today. So after breakfast, I did not even feel guilty when I went back to bed for my “morning nap”. When I woke up again around 10:30, I listened carefully, hoping to hear the sound of rain that would put me back to sleep. To my great disappointment, not only didn’t I hear rain, but I could also see rays of sun coming under the blinds.  I had reached the limits of my laziness and I kicked my ass so hard that in no time I had my running gear on and ready to go for a 10k run around Kungsholmen. I am pretty glad I did because that was by far my fastest 10k ever. I guess I felt motivated by the huge dark clouds that were making their ways over Stockholm. By the time I got back home, thundershowers were starting. But I felt good after the run so instead of going back to bed, I headed to Tårtan for lunch and a little bit of planning for my upcoming trip to Gotland.

IMG_2525

There have been very few changes to the café with the transition from Franzéns to Tårtan, other than moving the counter a bit further in the back. The light cups in which cappuccino is served are probably the same. The menu looks pretty similar – which is a good thing – although there seems to be more cakes on the offer these days (another good thing). In my attempts to be somewhat reasonable, I decided to have the quinoa salad with chèvre and beets. That was delicious!

IMG_2526

After spending some time eating the salad (those who know me will confirm that I am a very slow eater), I went through my Sweden travel guide and my Gotland hiking guide to start planning our 5-day vacation there at the end of June. That’s right, I am expecting a very important visitor from Paris in two weeks time. We will spend a couple of days in Stockholm before heading to Gotland. Although neither of us like to plan too much when we travel, I thought it would be good this time to have a vague idea of what we could do so that we can enjoy our time on the island as much as possible. I am very excited about this trip, mostly because of the company but also because I am sure Gotland will be great. And since I had worked so well, I thought I deserved a little reward. But that was not an easy decision.

IMG_2528

In the end, I went for something chocolaty… yes, sometimes I can be very predictable!

IMG_2531

I am glad I went to Tårtan today. The girl with the dragon tattoo might not be there anymore, but the girl working there today was very nice. I could tell that she was tempted to reply in English when I ordered in Swedish, but she kept speaking Swedish to me, simply slowing down a bit to make sure I understood. And for that, I am very grateful! By the time it was time to leave, the sun was back, and so were the customers on the sidewalk.

IMG_2534

Tårtan, Hornsgatan 32, Stockholm (Södermalm)

About redpantsandamustache

The older I get, the more I drink coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tårtan: doing very well, even without the girl with the piano tattoo

  1. Emily says:

    Ahem – you should tell us a story or two of your time in Gotland!!

    I’m impressed by your persistence to master a Nordic language!! Do you have a knack for languages? It’s something I’ve always wanted to be good at, like singing.

    • Ha! I wish I had a knack for languages… but I am just stubborn! Thankfully, I also know when not to be stubborn and I stopped trying to sing a long time ago!

      Hum, I did not visit many cafés in Gotland but maybe I could make an exception and have a “travel” entry about Gotland here… meanwhile you know where you can find photos 😉

  2. So “Franzéns” is gone, but not really? Too bad but change is always interesting. Good entry!

Leave a Reply

