Chaikhana Tea House: because I also love tea

I have been waiting for this Saturday for a long time. Not that anything special is happening today (sorry for all the Eurovision fans out there)… in fact I had been waiting for today exactly because nothing was happening. The last few weeks have been extremely busy at work and many big projects came to an end yesterday. I was looking forward to this lazy weekend. Lazy or not, I would also have to put in a couple of runs this weekend, especially with all the beer I consumed in the last couple of days; first during Canada’s defeat against Sweden at the World Hockey Championship on Thursday but also last night as a friend wanted to show me a bar in Östermalm which feels like Södermalm, “and has the cheapest beer in town”.

Thankfully I managed to sleep in this morning. But at 10:00 am I was hitting the running path for a short 10k around Kungsholmen. Cool and cloudy: the perfect weather for a run, and for not feeling guilty when spending most of the day home, reading a book or watching movies. But before I could settle under a blanket on the couch, I had made plans to meet my Swedish teacher for coffee and to go to a vernissage from one of her friends (I should probably mention here that I could have used the words “former teacher” since I didn’t have any classes since January but I am hopeful to resume classes in the next week or so).

Since the vernissage was at a gallery in Gamla Stan, we agreed to meet in that area. Frankly, I did not really know where we could go for coffee, but my Swedish teacher, who is more into tea than coffee, immediately suggested Chaikhana Tea House. She was probably a regular when she lived in Gamla Stan, but she hadn’t been there in more than five years. Apparently the place has not changed much.

IMG_2408

There are many things that are impressive about Chaikhana, starting with the wide selection of teas. We were offered two menus which had a different selection. Obviously, there are also much more options than those on the menu(s).

IMG_2412

But the most impressive thing at Chaikhana was probably the staff. First, everybody was kind and friendly. They also seem to know quite a bit about tea. My Swedish teacher told me that when she used to come to Chaikhana, the owner and the staff always had a good story to tell about this particular kind of tea or another, telling the story, for example, of how it was prepared for a Chinese Empress in the 15th century. And as I was paying just before leaving and my Swedish teacher expressed her surprise as a way of thanking me, the man behind the counter, whom I assume is the owner, explained that I was a gentleman. He then went on to complain that too many people in Northern Europe tended to confuse gender equality and generosity.

Chaikhana also has a nice food menu. Judging by what other guests were having, the traditional british sandwich seems to be a popular choice. But there is much more on the menu, including croque-monsieur and all kind of sandwiches. Chaikhana also offers nice cakes and pies. And macarons!

IMG_2409

We had four macarons (liquorice, ginger, saffran and lemon) to go with the wonderful jasmine green tea. We tried to speak a bit of Swedish but obviously I was a bit rusty. So we had to switch to English as I told my Swedish teacher all the nice things that had happened in my life since we last saw each other (more than 4 months ago). She also had to speak English to explain how her three-week trip to Cincinnati and Montreal turned into a three-month trip to Miami. It was a nice afternoon. I only wish I could have done this in Swedish.

IMG_2414

IMG_2407

Chaikhan Tea House, Svartmangatan 23, 11 29 Stockholm (Gamla Stan)

About redpantsandamustache

A simple guy who doesn't know what he will do when he grows up. P.S. Thanks to Fever Ray, now I think I wanna be a forester!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chaikhana Tea House: because I also love tea

  1. Emily Murtha says:

    I was wondering how your Swedish was progressing 😉 I want that exact rug for my house – you think you might be able to slip it under your coat the next time you go back 😀 ? Also – do you know how many times I tried to make a perfect macaron like that and it never turns out?!

    • Here is the deal: I’ll get the rug for you but you have to come and pick it up in Stockholm!
      I can’t comment about your macarons (I don’t remember you bringing any in the office…) but I am sure yours are pretty good, even though they might not look the same 😉

Leave a Reply

