Emmas: the perfect place for a come back

Well, it has been a long time. I just checked and I hadn’t been here since November 2012. Don’t worry, I did not join the coffee-aholic anonymous. I have just been busy with other things. While I kept drink coffee – a lot of coffee – in the last few months, I just did not find the time to share my new discoveries in Stockholm.

What is more important than coffee you ask? Well, first I decided to get back in shape. I am not quite there yet but I am making progress. Two weeks ago I ran the Kungsholmen half-marathon in 2h06m. If you go back a few entries on this blog, I once said that I had given up running a half-marathon under 2 hours. Well, this is now my objective for the Stockholm half in September.

More importantly, things have evolved quite positively with someone with whom I spent a long weekend in Copenhagen last September. Again, you will have to go back and read past entries to get some of the details. The result, however, is that I spent more time in the last few months writing to her than writing on this blog. I am still spending a lot of time thinking about her, but I felt like I should renew contact with this blog, if only to force me to go out and discover new cafés instead of going back to those I already know and love.

I used to be a big fan of hockey. Today I don’t really care… But tonight I was invited to a beer and pizza night to watch the Canada-Sweden game in the World Hockey Championship at friends’ who live at Sankt Eriksplan. Since the game only started at 20:15 and I got off work at 17:00, I thought this was a perfect occasion to visit a new café in that neighborhood. That would be much more productive than going back home for a nap.

If you go back to the early days of this blog, you will see that one of the nice cafés at Sankt Eriksplan was Balzac. Unfortunately, Balzac has closed down since my last visit. The good news is that Emmas has taken over. And frankly, not much has changed, except maybe the menu! The atmosphere at Emmas is just as good as it was at Balzac.

Image

While I found the menu on the wall from a projector really cool, the reality is that it tends to block the entry with people who can’t decide what they want to have. Besides, I don’t have enough patience to study a full menu when I have access to everything I need right in front of me! Seriously, the menu looks great, with the usual options for a Swedish café and a bit more. The pasta with chicken and pesto looked (and smelled) particularly delicious.

Image

Now, I told you that I had been working hard to get back in shape. This is partly for my well-being, but also to feel good with that special person who is taking more and more space in my life. So, I tried to be somewhat reasonable. After all, I had a pizza and beer evening waiting for me. So I only had a cookie with my cappuccino.

Image

Unfortunately, my capacity to be reasonable is quite limited and after putting a lot of effort in resisting, I had to order something else. Because you see, this is the beauty with Emmas! While a lot of cafés in Söder close at 18:00, Emmas stays open late, and it is a perfect place to have a glass of wine or a beer!

Image

Canada lost 3-2 in overtime against Sweden tonight. Frankly, it doesn’t really matter. In a couple of days I won’t even remember that game, but I will remember having a good time with my friends (although we probably had too much beer!). And I will also remember Emmas. Meanwhile, I will go back to Emmas soon, and I can’t wait to go back there with her…

Image

Emmas, Rörstrandsgatan 12, 113 40 Stockholm

About redpantsandamustache

A simple guy who doesn't know what he will do when he grows up. P.S. Thanks to Fever Ray, now I think I wanna be a forester!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Emmas: the perfect place for a come back

  1. Emily Murtha says:

    I’m so happy you’re back!! It sounds like life is wonderful for you old friend and I’m so happy to hear that!! Your training regime puts mine to shame 😦 But now that you’re back you are going to inspire me- you have a habit of doing that to people! 🙂

    • Wow Emily! That is really nice. But I remember our years In that crazy unit where sleep was too often a luxury and you were by far the fastest runner in the group. It doesn’t matter that I run about 150 km per month, you will always be the fastest! But I will keep training so that I am not too, too far behind when we finally do that Polar Night Half Marathon in the Arctic Circle 😉

  2. Wonderful to see you back! Andy

Leave a Reply

