Versatile: Capable of doing many things competently

First thing first: I would like to thank Ania for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award. I really enjoy Ania’s blog and I highly recommend that you go check it out. Without telling you everything about Ania, I must tell you that she is a Pole living in Washington DC. Well, the Washington DC part is not so important for the purpose of this story but the fact that she grew up in Poland is! Simply because I received the notification that I had been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award by Ania while I was chilling on a beach in Sopot! Coincidence? I don’t think so!

I like to see myself as “capable of doing many things competently”. This is taken from an online dictionary for versatile. Now, those who know me may disagree. If that is the case, you can go with the second definition: “having varied uses, serving many functions”. Your choice!

About the Versatile Blogger’s Award
The Versatile Blogger’s Award is a way for bloggers to support each other and recognize interesting and inspiring blogs. There rules to accept this award are:

  • Nominate 15 fellow bloggers who are relatively new to blogging
  • Let the nominated bloggers know that they have been nominated for this award
  • Share 7 random facts about yourself
  • Thank the blogger who has nominated you
  • Add the Versatile Award picture to your post

Seven random facts about me:

1- I had a Hello Kitty toaster for three weeks

2- My “friends” took me to McDonald’s after my first half marathon in Belgrade in 2007

3- I did quite a detour to see the famous “bridge over the Drina”

4- I have too many t-shirts with the word “chicks”

5- I can’t dance and I can’t fly a helicopter

6- I once showed up at a “jacket and tie” party with that t-shirt

7- I used to be  the king of BrickBreaker

Now, 15 more serious fellow bloggers (as usual, in no particular order):

1- Bente Haarstad Photography : beautiful photos from a beautiful place!

2- Miss Word : For book lovers. Mostly in Swedish.

3- Belgrade Streets : Beautiful photos from a place very dear to me.

4- Sparrow in the Tree Top : this blog is just as entertaining as is the blogger behind it. Believe me!

5- Marina Chetner : Beautiful photos… and the best travel guide ever for NYC and Brooklyn.

6- Håkan Dahlström Photography : Beautiful photos from my part of the world.

7- Montreal in Pictures : Beautiful photos from the part of the world I am from.

8- Me and Beirut : You may want to move to Beirut after reading this blog.

9- Violets and Cardamom : … or how I became (will become?) a hero in the kitchen! thanks.

10- ProjectStockholm52 : Totally new. Full of possibilities. Soon a must-read!

11- Extramission Theory : One day. One photo. Almost everyday

12- Lost in Sweden : Recipes. Thought. Pictures.

13- Travel on my mind : A travel blog full of joy. And directly from Göteborg.

14- 6 Months to live: The Experiment continues : Inspiring! Go see by yourself, it is full of life!

15- Hanna Richter Photography Blog : Photos I discovered in a Stockholm café: nice!

Well, I realized that many of these bloggers are not necessarily “new to blogging”, but you know what rules are for. And since I did not follow the first rule properly, I think I will simply ignore the second one 😉

Thanks again Ania!

 

About redpantsandamustache

A simple guy who doesn't know what he will do when he grows up. P.S. Thanks to Fever Ray, now I think I wanna be a forester!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Versatile: Capable of doing many things competently

  1. Jenny Trozell says:

    Thank you so much for mentioning my blog in this post. I had to laugh about the interesting facts about yourself, especially the Hello Kitty toaster 😀 Like! And what a surprise that you cannot fly a helicopter 😉

  2. Congratulation, Mustache, and I love all your cafes you know. And thanks a lot for your nomination, great. I will look at it later… 🙂

  3. Congratulations on the award, very well deserved! And thank you for following / nominating my blog, very kind!! Like Marina, I am looking forward to seeing images taken with the new camera! Great work! 🙂

    • Thanks Andy! I also look forward to posting images taken with the Canon. So far there is only one (the first on the Café String post). Still so much to learn. But it’s a lot of fun! Hope all is well in BG these days (or where ever you are on your road trip!).

  4. Me & Beirut says:

    “Mabrouk” on your award, you really get a lot of them!! 🙂 Merciiii merci for the super nice sentence about me 🙂 So, Beirut is waiting for you 🙂

    • Bonjour! I really can’t wait to go back to Beirut…. realistically it might only be in 2013. I should start looking into flight options. Maybe I could start with a long weekend some time in the fall.
      Hope all is well 🙂

  5. I am SO happy I got to know more about you.
    The toaster is just ridiculous… I can’t believe I went around this long withOUT knowing what kind of toaster you had (if only for a few weeks!)

    Thank-you for the kick-back! I’m thrilled to be considered “versatile” and that my competence has not been overlooked : )

    Have a wonderful Friday!

    ps. really great/hilarious post my friend!

    • Seriously, did you see how many lives I had on BrickBreaker? I can only imagine where I would be had I not have to give back the Blackberry 😉
      Probably a good thing you didn’t know about the toaster… somehow I have the feeling that I would have lost a little bit of credibility in the office 🙂
      Thank you my friend. Always great to see you around here.

  6. Thanks for the nomination Patrick…though not sure I count myself as being versatile, particularly recently having spent so many hours just shooting fireworks 😉 Much appreciated and looking forward to seeing your Canon pics – you will rock it mate !!!

  7. you’ll do just fine with the Canon! It’s fun to just get out there and practice… but the instruction book was so confusing to me when I first started reading it. I just went outside one morning and spent a few hours trying to figure it out. My photos were over exposed BUT I kind of liked them – reminded me of Manga (japanese comic images). Enjoy!

    • Thanks! This is actually the plan for the weekend.
      I have to say, I was also very confused when I started reading the instruction manual. Then I realized the instructions were only in Swedish, Danish and Finnish 😉 … Thankfully one can find everything on the Internet these days.

  8. Congrats on your award! Loved your random things – why did you have Hello Kitty toaster for a week. Did you find out it was a toy? 😉 your support of my blog is always so appreciated. Thank you, and I look forward even more to seeing the world through Canon 🙂

    • Actually, it was a very good toaster. A bit hard to look at first thing in the morning but it worked well (it was part of a furnished apartment I rented temporarily after moving to Stockholm).
      I, too, look forward to seeing Sweden through Canon, although it might take a while before I can do justice to this beautiful country!

Leave a Reply

