Kärlek&Mat: Another good reason to live in Hammarby Sjöstad

I had plans today to go with a friend and his two boys see another friend of ours play rugby in a park just south of Södermalm. As I was looking at the map to figure out how I would get there, I realized that I had to go through Gullmarsplan. And I remembered that the last time I was there, I had lunch in Hammarby Sjöstad and I had been quite impressed by the place.

“Hammarby Sjöstad Sjöstad is an exciting new district in Stockholm where the City has imposed tough environmental requirements on buildings, technical installations and the traffic environment, from day one.

Stockholm Water Company, Fortum and the Stockholm Waste Management Administration have jointly developed a common eco-cycle model designed to ensure organic recycling throughout Hammarby Sjöstad – known as “The Hammarby Model”. This model is the thread that binds together the entire environmental programme and demonstrates how the various technical supply systems are integrated”. You can read more about Hammarby Sjöstad on their website here. I love where I live now in Södermalm, but if I had to move I would seriously consider Hammarby Sjöstad.

I was decided to go and have coffee at the place where I had lunch months ago. Unfortunately I did not remember the name of the place, nor its location. Thankfully Hammarby Sjöstad is not that big and after locating the office that I had visited the last time I was here (Operation 1325), it didn’t take much time to find it: Finefood kärlek&mat.

Kärlek&Mat was perfect when I first had lunch there (beautiful Swedish meatballs) and I had very high expectations for my breakfast coffee there this morning. As soon as I walked in, I knew that I would not be disappointed.  Even though the place was relatively quiet compared to when I had been here for lunch, I could tell that everything here was of good quality.

I had a very nice chocolate croissant with a cappuccino (ordered in Swedish!) this morning.  And as soon as I sat down by an open window, Kärlek&Mat started to fill in. In a typical Stockholm Saturday morning, half the customers were pushing strollers. The other half appeared to be older people who had been to Ozzy’s concert the night before!

Kärlek&Mat is a café, a restaurant, a catering service and a store where one can buy all kind of fine food products. And it looks like they are also using cups from johan&nyström 🙂

Finefood kärlek&mat also has a few tables on the sidewalk. It was still a bit chilly though this morning. I suspect that these tables were not free later in the afternoon sun! And now that I have my Stockholm bike pass, now that summer is finally here, I will spend more time by the water in Hammarby Sjöstad, and will of course spend more time at kärlek&mat!

Finefood kärlek&mat, Hammarby Allé 62, Hammarby Sjöstad, Stockholm

About redpantsandamustache

The older I get, the more I drink coffee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kärlek&Mat: Another good reason to live in Hammarby Sjöstad

  1. Great pictures! And a chocolate croissant with a cappuccino, how lovely.

    • Thanks! Of course, photos taken from a phone do not do these cafés justice but it gives a feel for the atmosphere. I suspect that Kärlek&Mat will be one of my regular spots for summer weekends breakfast 😉

Leave a Reply

